1 Stitch “Garterlac” Cast On…

I am a dishclothaholic… I love to knit them and have my “go to” knits… Grandma’s Favorite, Almost Lost (well, my variation of it, but I’ll save that for another time) and the Garterlac, also referred to by those who are addicted to knitting them as “Gartercrack” dishcloths. I’ve been knitting them for 5 years and they truly are so much fun to knit! I had heard about the 1 stitch cast on for the Garterlac that Tinker Tots had posted about and decided to give it a try as it really does make all of the edges look the same especially when using variegated yarns….

This picture shows the original cast on edge for the Base Triangles – and as you can plainly see, the cast on edge sticks out like a sore thumb with this variegated yarn…

09 Regular Cast On EdgeIMG_4082

This picture shows the 1 stitch cast on edge for the Base Triangles – it all blends in and all four edges of the finished cloth will look the same.  LOVE IT!

10 Single Stitch Cast on Edge

Which brings me to the meat of this post…  I sat down with my needles, cotton and Tinker Tots’ directions (she’s a genius!) and made the three base triangles and ended up with one triangle on one needle and two triangles on the other, so I ripped it out and did it again with the same results… then I did it again… guess what?  Same results 😦  After Googling, YouTube searching and going through hundreds and hundreds of the Ravelry projects, I messaged Laura (Tinker Tots) and asked her what I was doing wrong. She VERY kindly gave me some more information and off I went and did it again – with the same results – I seriously couldn’t wrap my head around what I was doing wrong!  The difference this time was that my very thick brain kicked into gear and it finally clicked….  I did, however, make a couple of very small changes to the original directions to make it clearer for me.  So to help any of you that are interested in this womderful method (thank you Laura!) and this fabulously addictive pattern (thank you Criminy Jickets!)  I have put together a pictorial of the base triangles to go along with the directions, as well as pictures of what the next row will look like as you work it.

Laura’s Directions are as follows for the 1st Base Triangle…

Increasing Base Triangle

Cast On one stitch

K 1, turn, K-FB, turn.
K 2, turn, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 3, turn, K 1, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 4, turn, K 2, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 5, turn, K 3, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 6, turn, K 4, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 7, turn, K 5, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 8, turn,
K 6, K-FB, K 1, return last stitch to your other needle and treat as first stitch of the next triangle

01 1st Base Triangle

This is what I did for the 2nd base triangle…

With work oriented as in the picture above and working into the single stitch…

K-FB, turn.
K 2, turn, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 3, turn, K 1, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 4, turn, K 2, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 5, turn, K 3, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 6, turn, K 4, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 7, turn, K 5, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 8, turn,
K 6, K-FB, K 1, return last stitch to your other needle and treat as first stitch of the next triangle

02 Second Base Triangle

Now let’s work the 3rd Base Triangle…

With work oriented as in the picture above and working into the single stitch…

K-FB,turn.
K 2, turn, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 3, turn, K 1, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 4, turn, K 2, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 5, turn, K 3, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 6, turn, K 4, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 7, turn, K 5, K-FB, K 1, turn.
K 8, turn.
Knit 8

Your Triangle Base Row should look like this…

03 3rd Base Triangle

Now follow Criminy Jickets Garterlac Directions and make an Increasing Side Triangle – your work will now look like this…

04 Increasing Side Triangle

Now make your first Square – it will look like this….

05 1st Square

Now make your second Square – which will look like this… It’s like MAGIC! 🙂

06 2nd Square

Now for the Decreasing Side Triangle to finish off this row…

08 Decreasing Side Triangle

Follow the pattern and finish your cloth 🙂

Love it, Love it, Love it!  Hope this helps anyone that can be as thick as I am sometimes. 🙂   Happy Knitting!

9 responses to “1 Stitch “Garterlac” Cast On…

  1. Help!!! I have followed your “1 stitch “Garterlac” cast on” to the “T” and all is find til the very end when according to the instructions all 3 base triangle should be on the same needle (right) after completing the last “Knit 8”. Is the pattern wrong or am I doing something wrong. When I complete the last “Knit 8” triangle it is on the left needle and the other 2 base triangles are on the right needle. I an really getting into the Entrelac pattern and want to accomplish this supposedly very each 1 stitch cast on. Plz advise…Carleen Gryczko

    • Hi Carleen, I’m sorry you are having a problem. I have one question for you. When you finished the third base triangle, you need to knit 8 back. This puts that triangle back on the other needle. Did you do that?

      K-FB,turn.
      K 2, turn, K-FB, K 1, turn.
      K 3, turn, K 1, K-FB, K 1, turn.
      K 4, turn, K 2, K-FB, K 1, turn.
      K 5, turn, K 3, K-FB, K 1, turn.
      K 6, turn, K 4, K-FB, K 1, turn.
      K 7, turn, K 5, K-FB, K 1, turn.
      K 8, turn.
      Knit 8

  2. Thought I did. Will try again. And, THANKS for the reply. I am really getting into entrelac. Can’t wait to make a scarf.

    • You are very welcome. That is exactly what kept happening to me, which is why I rewrote the directions. Please let me know if it doesn’t come out right. Happy knitting 🙂

      • Carleen Gryczko

        I am so sorry. I tried it again and IT WORKED!!!!! Thanks you so much for your reply. Now that I have this down pat on to bigger and better enterlac projects. I love this new 1 stitch cast on. Again, Thanks!!!!!

  3. YAY! I’m so happy you got it to work! It is an amazing cast on and looks so beautiful finished 🙂 Enjoy your Entrelac knitting, it is addicting 🙂

    • I was wondering if the “1” stitch cast on would would work on stockinette stitch as well, making the appropriate adjustments. Got the stockinette stitch dishcloth off Raverly. So far I have many of both. I as now addicted to the “1” cast on. Please advise if there is a different pattern for stockinette stitch. Love the way the cast on edge looks. thanks for your reply. Knit On!!!!!!

  4. Hi Carleen, I honestly have not used the 1 stitch for anything other than entrelac. There are so many different cast on methods to choose from… Judy’s Magic Cast On, Long Tail, Cable, Reverse Stockinette, ICord, etc. I think it is more personal preference and what works best for the project you are knitting. What I do when I want to experiment with new cast on methods, stitch patterns, edgings and bind offs, is dishcloths. I try whatever method I want to learn/experiment with and have a dishcloth in the end 🙂 I’m sorry that I don’t have a definitive answer for you on this one, but I’m thrilled you are happy with the 1 stitch for your entrelac! Have a great day.
    Cathy

  5. Hi, Cathy. I just found out that a new friend knits but she hasn’t progressed beyond scarfs. After I showed her some of my dishcloths, she was inspired to broaden her knowledge. Of course the one that she admired the most was the “garterlac.” Did you know that it I couldn’t find the one stitch cast on by search?! How frustrating. Fortunately I had saved the pattern in Books. So here I am again, still grateful that you have shared your skills and knowledge. I wonder if she will be brave enough to try.

Leave a comment