When reality strikes…

It is school vacation week in this frozen, snowy wasteland I call home.  School Vacation week for me is usually a lovely week off where I have delusions of getting my home put back in order, cooking wonderful, healthy meals for my family, baking delicious desserts and when all of this domestic engineering is completed, I get to sit in my favorite chair with a nice hot cup of coffee or tea and knit with my faithful and loving dog at my feet….

The reality is… I came down with the flu over the first weekend of vacation, and when the spine snapping chills subsided and my head stopped feeling as though it would combust if I moved it too quickly, I managed to work my way to my chair with some knitting and the dog… lol

IMG_3291 IMG_3292

I finally ventured out for an appointment yesterday, and since I recently discovered there is an LYS in my area that I had no idea existed, I made a slight detour to check it out.  I  honestly couldn’t have been more thrilled.  The owner is an absolute joy to talk to, the shop is cozy, beautifully setup, and the yarn… oh HEAVEN!  A few little goodies came home with me to help with my recovery and to cheer the winter blues away…

FullSizeRender - Copy (4)  FullSizeRender (9) - Copy

and just because this was so cheerful and cute…FullSizeRender (10) - Copy

I also think I may have finally found the solution to my painful, winter  hands.  My fingers split, bleed and destroy just about anything I touch when the weather turns in the fall.  I have tried absolutely everything out there, from prescriptions to over the counter remedies and I have enough lotions and creams to open my own little store.  A friend of ours saw my bleeding fingers recently and was adamant that the Working Hands by O’Keefe is what I had to buy… well, hope springs eternal, so out I went.  It works!  It is incredible… it works, it is amazing and I can knit!!!  I top it off with the Gloves in a Bottle and my hands are soft, smooth and no longer painful, bleeding and splitting 🙂FullSizeRender (7) - Copy

I hope you are all staying warm and cozy this week… I’m off with my cup of coffee, box of tissues and some knitting… the dog is napping and the house can wait!

 

Leave a Reply

