And Now For Something Completely Different – 2KCBWDAY5

This is an experimental blogging day to try and push your creativity in blogging to the same level that you perhaps push your creativity in the items you create.  There are no rules of a topic to blog about (though some suggestions are given below) but this post should look at a different way to present content on your blog. This can take one of many forms, but here a few suggestions:

  • Wordless, photographic post
  • Video blog post
  • Podcast
  • Cartoon/sketch of an idea
  • Write about a subject from a different perspective (for example, you could write about a day in the life of a knitted sock from the point of view of the sock).
  • Interpretive modern dance (why does someone always suggest this?
  • A poem or piece of rhyming verse
  • Stop motion animation

**********************************************

A Day In My Life… as written by Jenn’s soon to be Chemo Cap

I’m so happy that my “knitter” Cathy has given up her blog to me today so I can tell my story – to be truthful I didn’t think she would allow it as it speaks volumes to how careless she has been with me and my well being.  I have no doub that it is terribly embarrassing and humbling for a knitter such as she is, to have her utter disregard for my safety publisized for the entire knitting community to see, however, that being said, she has been taking “some” slow but steady steps to make things right again.  So welcome, have a seat and I’ll tell you my story :)….

 

First, let me introduce myself… my name is Fixation (kind of a weird name, but I have no control over that).  I don’t remember my birthday, but I do remember living in my foster home – The Mt. Laurel Yarn Boutique with my siblings and friends.  Cathy came in one day to adopt me and one of my siblings and took me home with her.  I remember her lovingly sitting down with me at the computer to find the perfect “cap” to knit me into and I’ll tell you…. I was excited at the possibilities and the pattern that she finally decided on.

  It also, didn’t hurt my ego too much that she tossed put aside one of my cousins (Espirit – another weird name, not sure what is going on with my family!) in favor of ME!!!

 

I remember the day I was cast on to her favorite Addi Lace needles and my “growing up” began.  She loved the pattern and absolutely LOVED the look and feel of me for this project (I know this because I heard her telling her friends, how soft I would be as a Chemo Cap and how lovely my color was).  Things seemed to be going along nice and smooth – she worked with me at night after dinner and let me sleep in the sheep my “cousin” had been thrown out of used to live in when she went to bed.

On that fateful Saturday…. she told the people she lives with that all she was going to do was sit and knit until she finished the Cap so that I could travel to live and love my new “person”- I was so excited to take a trip and wanted desperately to help Jenn feel better by keeping her head nice and warm.  I was becoming so grown up and lovely as Cathy knit along that day until she took a break to do a “few things”.  She set me down with my sheep bed on a huge footstool and said she’d be right back….

That is when THE MONSTER appeared!!!!!!!!!    It was sooooooooo loud  and scary looking and Cathy seemed to be pushing it right TOWARD ME – why would she put me in danger? She loved me…didn’t she?   I heard an awful grating sound and felt myself being sucked up and spun around into a terrible vortex of dirt and dust – her beautiful Addi Lace needles were screaming and fighting to get out… when all of a sudden I heard Cathy scream and the awful monster just STOPPED (she must have really scared it!). 

It was too late – I had been ripped away from my Addi’s and was in a terrible mess of knots and tangles.  Cathy was so upset and was saying words that I just didn’t understand – some of the “people” she lives with, weren’t really happy with whatever it was those words were, but she told them to “go away-couldn’t they see what had happened?!”  We spent the rest of the day straightening me out, cleaning me up and giving me a ride on the neatest thing ever (she called it a ball winder – whatever it was, it was FUN!).   We were both exhausted from fighting off the monster, my bath and my ride on the “winder” – so I didn’t get to see my friend Addi until Sunday 😦

True to her word, I got to spend some special “quiet time” with her and I’m on my way to growing up into a beautiful Chemo Cap for Jenn 🙂  I can’t wait to meet her finally – I don’t know if I should tell her about my adventures here or not?…. I wouldn’t want her to be afraid that the awful monster might have followed me to her house!   (I don’t think that will happen, cuz Cathy got so mad at it that it has been locked in a big closet since it attacked me!)

Thank you for reading about my life, it’s been pretty short, but it sure has been an adventure!  I’ll be back when I’m all finished growing up to say goodbye to you all before I take my trip 🙂

Oh wait!…before you go…..Cathy wants me to tell you… Happy Knitting and watch out for yarn eating MONSTERS!

14 responses to “And Now For Something Completely Different – 2KCBWDAY5

  1. OMG that is a great story but I am wondering if the Addi needles survived the ordeal. I love my Addis and cringe at the thought that something would happen to them.

    thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. That is a yarn nightmare! I’m glad everyone survived safe and sound. Don’t let that monster out of the closet again.

  3. That’s a good enough reason to avoid vacuuming for a while- I’m going to use it to excuse my bedroom carpet being covered in fluff.

  4. OMGosh! That vacuum is a yarn eating monster. The horror! Thank goodness you were able to retrieve, clean, and rewind.

  5. Very funny! So glad you could recover the yarn. How about your needles?

  6. I’m glad the story has a happy ending.

  7. That was a nightmare story! But told in such an entertaining way! Glad the Addi’s survived and the yarn has been fixed…I used some of that yarn to make a bathing suit for a friend!

Leave a Reply

