Where Are They Now? – 2KCBWDAY4

Whatever happened to your __________?

Write about the fate of a past knitting project. Whether it be something that you crocheted or knitted for yourself or to give to another person. An item that lives with you or something which you sent off to charity.

There are a lot of different aspects to look at when looking back at a knitting project and it can make for interesting blogging, as much of the time we blog about items recently completed, new and freshly completed. It is not so often that we look back at what has happened to these items after they have been around for a while.

How has one of your past knits lived up to wear. Maybe an item has become lost. Maybe you spent weeks knitting your giant-footed dad a pair of socks in bright pink and green stripes which the then ‘lost’. If you have knit items to donate to a good cause, you could reflect on the was in which you hope that item is still doing good for it’s owner or the cause it was made to support.

 dsc03157ic1_th

In November, 2006 – a project was started to help comfort my dear friend Jenn who was going through a tragedy of epic proportions – something that most of us can’t even fathom living through.  I put out a call to knitters interested in making squares for a blanket for her and the response, outpouring of love that came from all over the world was something that I will NEVER forget! (for more on the story of this blanket and the knitters that contributed to it, please see the “Comforting Jenn” tab at the top of this blog). 

I crocheted the squares together, gathered up the cards and notes that were sent for her and mailed the package off.  She was speechless and so very touched by this gift of love from “perfect strangers”.  She treasures it to this day and still derives comfort from it.  She, once again, has cancer and is going through Chemo for the 2nd time,.  She is an amazing young woman, with an enormous amount of courage and grace – and although she lives in Arizona and this blanket is much too warm to use on a regular basis – she has been known to “crank up the air conditioning” and curl up under it, and it is always there to remind her that there are people that care.

dsc03161yn3
Knitters are truly the MOST generous, kind, loving people in the world.

This stroller blanket was in the works for Jenn’s baby when the accident that took him and her family happened.  I carefully packed it and the yarn away, still on the needles. (you can probably see it in one of the pic’s in yesterday’s post).  I can’t see myself ever finishing this blanket, but I am completely unable to let it go.  I may bind it off and do “something” with it in the future to send to her to do with as she wishes (and then again, I may not).
DSCN1115

These blankets, each knit with an enormous amount of love for two completely different reasons, will hold a place in my heart and memory as well as Jenn’s –  along with the knitters who jumped right in to help without a second thought. The knitting community/family is amazing!

*********************************

Lyssa's Owl

I had to end the post with this little guy…. I made him for my daughter her freshman year in College  (“Owl” is the mascot) – She will graduate in May and when I brought her back to school last weekend, I noticed him still sitting on her desk – he has kept her company for 4 years, and hopefully reminded her how much I love her! 🙂

15 responses to “Where Are They Now? – 2KCBWDAY4

  1. Knitting for others is a great way to show how you feel. You have touched Jenn and your daughter in ways they will remember forever.

  2. Oh my. Your friend Jenn …there are no words.

    • I know what you mean, the scope of what has happened to her in her short life is overwhelming. But she is always the first one to want to help, be there for someone and try to cheer everyone else up. She has a huge heart and incredible strength.

  3. It sounds like Jen still need prayers so I will put her in mine.
    Thank you for sharing this story.

  4. Knitters are wonderfully kind people on the whole. Your blanket is testimony of this. It’s beautiful. I hope your friend will be ok.

  5. I love how the crafting community always seem to want to help in the way they know best. It must be so warming to receive this kind of gift. I’m glad you were able to do this for a woman who so desperately needed some warmth and love.

    • The crafting community are incredible people. I was on the receiving end of one of these incredible gifts, and I have to tell you, I was so touched by it that I was speechless. (you can see it under the Big Fibery Hug tab at the top of my banner). Thank you so much for your kind words ❤

  6. This story brought tears to my eyes. It’s not just items we knit or crochet, it’s love. I really hope Jenn can beat the cancer and go on living.

  7. What a heartrending story! I began a knitted hat for a pregnant friend several years ago. In her 8th month, her baby passed away and she was faced with a painful (emotionally, physically) labor. She had chosen the hat I had knit. At the memorial service, a little memory box with baby girl’s hospital band and a few other items was placed for view. It broke my heart that this beautiful mother would place nothing more in this memory box. On what would be baby girl’s first birthday, I presented my friend with the hat. I couldn’t keep it, it had been knit for her and her baby. She was absolutely thrilled. She cried, but was so happy to have a little hat for her baby girl. She has since had another child, but baby girl’s hat remains in her memory box. She told me “you knit it for her”. Perhaps you should gift your friend that knitted item…only you will know.

    • What a beautiful thought. How blessed your friend is to have someone like you to offer support and love. I will definitely keep that in mind – it may be just the right thing to do sometime soon. Thank you so much for your suggestion and for your kind comment, I truly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

