Tidy Mind, Tidy Stitches – 2KCBWDAY3

How do you keep your yarn wrangling organised? It seems like an easy to answer question at first, but in fact organisation exists on many levels. Maybe you are truly not organised at all, in which case I am personally daring you to try and photograph your stash in whatever locations you can find the individual skeins. However, if you are organised, blog about an aspect of that organisation process, whether that be a particularly neat and tidy knitting bag, a decorative display of your crochet hooks, your organised stash or your project and stash pages on Ravelry.

Knitting/Crafting for me is “comfort” on so many levels.  I find joy not only in the actual “doing” of the craft, but also having it around me to see and enjoy even when I don’t have the time to sit and “do”.

I absolutely LOVE looking at these knitting needles… it isn’t only the colors that cheer me, but the memories they bring back to me.  Some of these needles belonged to my Mom, Grandma, Aunts and dear friends.  Most of these people are no longer with me and I find comfort in seeing these needles every day and remembering the beautiful creations these wonderful people made.  I can still picture having them all teach me different aspects of Knitting and the love and warmth I felt listening to the clicking of the needles as they worked on, afghans, slippers, socks for the family.  The container holding these needles is an antique pickle crock that also belonged to my Grandma 🙂  Comfort all the way ’round 🙂

  

I had the hooks displayed in a similar manner to the needles, but found that I “need” them for accents on my knitting, or adding beading to my knitting and was often irritated that I didn’t have them with me, when I was in Maine or traveling.  So, into this case they went.  These also contain, bone, ivory and very old steel needles that belonged to family members.

These “worm binders” are THE most wonderful inventions!  The large one, containes, my interchangeable needles, all of my dpn’s and notions.  It is fantastic for organizing and small enough to put in a knitting tote and go!  The small worm binder has beading supplies in it.  I love to make stitch markers, fobs and add beads to knitted items.  With these two cases, everything is at my fingertips whenever I need them 🙂

   

We all have “stash” that our family doesn’t have to know about, so that isn’t shown here 😉  I have a closet with organizers holding some of my yarn.  I have it broken down by fiber type.  Wool, cotton, sock, worsted etc.  I also belong to the “Wee Tiny Sock Club” and have each month’s project in it’s own ziplock in the brown tote – to grab and go.  I LOVE bags and baskets, and have too many to confess to.

 

 

 

I also have baskets in different areas of the house.  I think, like flowers, baskets full of colorful fibery goodness add a bit of charm and sunshine to any room 🙂

 

3 responses to “Tidy Mind, Tidy Stitches – 2KCBWDAY3

  1. Aha! Another Worm Binder fan! I love, love, LOVE mine, and blogged about it, too! yay!

  2. I’ve only just heard about these magic worm binder things. I LOVE how much I’m learning in blog week.

  3. You’re so organized! I love the crock with all the needles. Isn’t it wonderful to have the tools from other knitters/crocheters. All their love of the craft is there for you to add to.
    I had heard of worm binders but this is the first time I have seen them. They really are a great idea.

Leave a Reply

