Skill + 1UP – 2KCBWDAY2

Look back over your last year of projects and compare where you are in terms of skill and knowledge of your craft to this time last year. Have you learned any new skills or forms of knitting/crochet (can you crochet cable stitches now where you didn’t even know such things existed last year? Have you recently put a foot in the tiled world of entrelac? Had you even picked up a pair of needles or crochet hook this time last year?

“Progress” and “learning” are sometimes completely obscured by the total joy of doing something that I love to do, and crafting – knit, crochet, cross stitch, embroidery, beading, sewing, etc. – are all things I have loved to do my entire life. Knitting has been at different places on the list over the course of my life, but over the last 10 years has reached and stayed at Number 1.  I absolutely love a challenge, -I will, at times, start a project just because I don’t know how to do a particular pattern, stitch, etc. and I am sorry to admit that once I have figured out how to do it, I sometimes lose interest and into the “frog pond” it goes.

This past year, I had a picture in my head of a scarf I wanted to make for my daughters – so I searched Ravelry and the internet for a pattern. I found many patterns that were close to what I wanted but “not quite”. After hours of frustration, I had an ah ha, slap myself on the forehead moment! It suddenly occured to me that I could “just do it”! I wanted a chunky single braided scarf that was reversible – I didn’t want ridges in it, just a plain, wide, reversible braid. What surprised me the most, is that I had all of the knowledge to do it, but thought I needed a pattern – I guess my confidence wasn’t what it should have been.

So… I started to knit – and WOW! there it was – exactly what I saw in my head, materializing in my own hands!!!!! Writing up the pattern to share with others, was such a joy for me. Seeing the scarves that others are making from this pattern and hearing their comments about it, how much they enjoy knitting it, offering suggestions to make the cables easier to do… has been wonderful!

This accomplishment, gave me food for thought, and I wrote up another pattern that I had been knitting for years – out of my head – to share.

Although I have taught myself, intarsia knitting this year – something I have wanted to learn for quite a while and steeking is on my “next to learn” list…. I have to say, that my “aha” moment of not needing a “written knitting pattern” to create what I envision was the MOST fantastic “learning” experience I have had to date.  It is amazing to me that I have been holding needles for 40+ years and it just never occured to me that I had those skills.  Crocheting was another story for me, I have been “creating” my own crochet designs since I was in my teens.  Go figure! The sky is the limit now for this knitter 🙂

2 responses to “Skill + 1UP – 2KCBWDAY2

  1. Your designs (doesn’t that sound fantastic!) are lovely.

  2. that scarf is really nice. I’d like to try it sometime.

Leave a Reply

