A Tale of Two Yarns – 2KCBWDAY1

Part of any fibre enthusiast’s hobby is an appreciation of yarn. Choose two yarns that you have either used, are in your stash or which you yearn after and capture what it is you love or loathe about them.

This is a bit of a challenge for me as I LOVE YARN!  I wouldn’t describe myself as a “fiber snob” at all.  I tend to be drawn to colors that strike my fancy or my mood at the time and I am most definitely a “touchy feely” type shopper when it comes to fiber.  It doesn’t matter if I’m buying cotton for a dishcloth, bathmat or summer socks, if it doesn’t “feel” wonderful in my hands, no matter what it is intended for, I won’t buy it.

As an example, I have Peaches n Cream and Sugar n Cream in my stash.  For dishcloths, I will use the Sugar in Cream which in my opinion is stiffer and a bit more rough than the Peaches n Cream.  If I’m making face cloths or body cloths as gifts such as the ones pictured below, I will use the softest cotten I can find.

The same thing goes for my socks – I LOVE knitting socks and there are so many beautiful yarns to choose from.  Summer Sox is great for knitting “Summer” socks 🙂 – soft and beautiful colors – and don’t get me started on the wonderful Bamboo yarns, their beautiful sheen and the softness of them just feel so fantastic when they are slipped on and they look gorgeous knit up!  I love the “wool” socks to make socks for men in my life when they go hunting and are outside blowing snow and shoveling.

I’m so grateful that there are such wonderful fibers to choose from.  We have so many more options than the generations preceeding us.  Knit on!

One response to “A Tale of Two Yarns – 2KCBWDAY1

  1. I agree. We are so lucky to have so many yarns to choose from. I’ll knit with whatever is the right one for the item I’m making be it cashmere or Red Heart. All yarn has it’s place.

Leave a Reply

