Your knitting and crochet time – 2KCBWDAY7

Write about your typical crafting time. When it is that you are likely to craft – alone or in more social environments, when watching TV or whilst taking bus journeys. What items do you like to surround yourself with whilst you twirl your hook like a majorette’s baton or work those needles like a skilled set of samurai swords. Do you always have snacks to hand, or are you a strictly ‘no crumbs near my yarn!’ kind of knitter.

*************************************

This is a tricky one for me as I don’t have a “typical crafting time”.  I take whatever moments I can get.  That being said, if I know I can park myself in front of the TV or plug myself into my iPod, I will work on a project that needs a bit more attention – such as a color work item I may be working on, or something that has a more complicated stitch pattern. 

I always have a couple of project bags loaded up with what I refer to as “travel knits” – these are typically socks, mittens, scarves and there is always, always some dishcloth cotton and a set of needles in the car – just in case….

  1. I forget to grab one of my travel knits 
  2. I’m overtired and can’t focus on anything more complicated than a dishcloth
  3. I want to knit without looking and not care if I make an error :) because, seriously, dishes don’t care if there is a small boo boo in the cloth.

I found this neat little gadget at Walmart – it’s an ipod stand/earbud holder.  It folds into a very small, compact sized case to travel with and since I have been using the JKnit App (support group on Ravelry is here)  for all of my patterns, it is PERFECT.  I love the app and the case – no more carrying paper patterns, pencils, sticky notes, notepads, row counters – everything is right there in my ipod for me!

     

I have no problem with “where” I knit, but I do try to think of what is “practical” to knit where I am.  If I’m at the beach, in the movies or will be pulling the project in and out of the bag – I will most often work on something that is on circs or straights and not dpn’s – I get EXTREMELY cranky when I drop/lose a dpn :/  As for snacking while knitting…. well that also depends on what I’m knitting and with what yarn – I will NEVER eat anything greasy while I knit, but I have been known to “snack” while knitting ;)

 

This is my favorite place to knit – an oversized, very comfy chair, with my Big Fibery Hug on the back in case I get chilly.  I can think of nothing better, than curling up with my knitting, a good audio book or movie, a cup of tea or coffee and spending the afternoon :) 

This has been enormously fun! I’m so happy I joined in and I thank Eskimimi for putting it together! Out of all of the days, my favorite post to write was the Day 5 post – it definitely turned an ugly experience into a “fun” post :)  I’m thrilled that I found so many new blogs to read and look forward to following them – this has also given me the push to blog more often – I guess I DO have the time to put up posts more often ;)

Happy Knitting!

3 responses to “Your knitting and crochet time – 2KCBWDAY7

  1. Knitters seem to have this in common – we knit whenever we can and have take along projects or other projects which travel well.

    Stopping by from Knitting and Crochet Blog Week. Our link is http://blog.mymummyknits.com/my-knitting-time/

  2. That iPod thing is cool! I will looking into one of those!!

  3. I will be checking out that app.
    Hasn’t this week been wonderful. I have so enjoyed reading blogs that are new to me and revisiting with old friends.

Leave a Reply

